Back at it Again!

Midweeeeek.png

A couple weeks ago I took part in a waste of time.

It was called ‘Classical revolution’ and it took place at one of my favourite Coffee shops, ‘Little Man Coffee’. Looking at their social media and their videos it looked pretty good, it looked like there was a good number of other musicians coming together to do little concerts and perform works they hadn’t yet played for an audience. So naturally I said I would do a couple pieces, because I am slowly trying to get back to some good classical repertoire.

However, when I got there one sunny afternoon, it became apparent that I was the only person performing at this concert that I wasn’t being paid for… the organiser was half an hour late as well.

This organiser was the definition of ‘Mediocre white Man’. He started talking to me after I had done a 30 minute set and I assumed he was just a random member of the public coming to tell me how much he enjoyed it… he was the organiser…. we had not brought his instrument, he had effectively missed his own concert, and he mumbled. The Mumbling is what got to me. Here I was, a confident and professional musician, hosting my own concert, by myself, not being paid for it, and I wasn’t even in charge! This mediocre man then told me that he would say something after my ending set… I was amused by this, did my final 10 minutes and starting packing up while this man mumbled to a now almost empty coffee house… like, most people had gotten up and left when I’d finished my first set.

 

A couple weeks later I performed at Pontypridd museum… I organised everything, I did all the promotional work, all the flyers. And people actually came, people also watched on the live stream, which was great. But people came! and they even donated! So, we actually made a small profit!

So, after this I became more frustrated with the fact that I had organised a successful solo concert and managed to get people to turn up for it, and yet this man had managed to organise a monthly concert series…. soooo… Now I’m doing one. Because….

If I’m not being paid, I might as well be in charge!

It’s true though, if I’m not going to make any money from doing this guy’s concert then I might as well be in charge of my own concert.

So, ‘Mid Week Music’ was born! It’s the same model as the pontypridd concert, being donation based. but it’s designed so that people can come and see some live music on their lunch break and also be able to eat their lunch at the same time. (Also, one of my other favourite coffee places is in Castle Emporium so that helps too! honestly gang, if you’re still buying coffee from Starbucks, Costa or any other chain and you live in a city like Cardiff, what are you doing? Go local! Go independent! they need the money more than the tax avoiders!)

Anyway, so the first one is 7th June, 1pm. We’ll be live streaming it too! Don’t worry! but also, we’ll be doing it every month (if it’s successful!!!!) with different artists and performers each month who will all get to share their wonderful talents with you!

Midweeeeek.png

So! You can come see it live! watch it online! and follow it on twitter!!!!! also tell a friend! and please come! Please!!!!

 

Sam Hickman – Back At IT AGAIN!!!!

Leave a Reply

