Gardening update: Drama, Destruction and Death!

I went on holiday and the boy we had staying here watering the plants left four days early! and those four days were the hottest of the year!

needless to say when came back the garden looked a little unkept:

DSC_0076.JPG

the main casualties were my hanging basket:

DSC_0065.JPG

And of course planty!

DSC_0072.JPG

my beautiful baby tree!

The wild flower garden we planted before we left is doing incredibly well and Sarah let me dig up a veg patch so I can grow even more fruit and veg!

DSC_0073.JPG

23rd June

DSC_0257.JPG

3rd July

here are some labeled pictures of everything we’re growing!

gardenlabel.png

We also have a pear tree now, and my hydrangea is doing brilliantly, as is the rose that we inherited from the previous owners.

DSC_0260.JPG

Planty bounced back!

DSC_0259.JPG

And we got a water butt! (mainly so we can make butt-jokes)

DSC_0256.JPG

 

But the most exciting bit of gardening that I’ve done recently is the gardening that’s not in my garden!

At the end of my street is a small space with three squares of ground where trees used to live.

they had trees there in 2008:

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 14.01.44.png

(thanks google street view!)

and then in 2012 they were removed!

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 14.02.15.png

and the end of my road became a fly tippers paradise!

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 14.02.29.png

 

So when I was offered the chance to take care of a planter on the street I jumped at it! and in June we put a big planter there!

 

So when we put that in the council said ‘sure, you can dig up the other three squares’ and that’s what we did this weekend!!! (and I started a twitter… I’m too keen!)

So that’s it! Hopefully some lovely things will grow! but you’ll have to tune in next time to see!

Leave a Reply

